Letter from Saint Nicholas

World VisionDear World,

I saw that you hang me out in your yards and wear me on your sweaters. I noticed you tell your children that I will bring them presents and that I like milk and cookies. Why is it that you tell your kids that I check my list to see who is naughty or nice? I do not understand why you do all these things. I pray that you will hold true to Jesus during this time of His birth. Praise God for what He has done not what I did.

I only helped children because of the love in my heart for God. It is God that changed my life. Please stop making me the center of this advent season. The coming of Christ in a manger long ago is more marvelous than “Santa” flying around delivering presents to every child in the world. Yes, I understand that children get excited, but let us remember that the most exciting thing WAS A CHILD.

It breaks my heart to see myself everywhere, in stores, on houses, in lawns, on trees, on stockings, in movies, in books, on T.V., in songs, and constantly talked about during this season. Not to mention some of you dress up like me and have children sit on your lap, I would cry too.

I want to thank all of you who choose not to ponder on a servant of God all season long, but rather on the precious King of kings. Teach your children who I really am—a servant of the Most High God. Teach your children that Jesus came to this earth so that people like you and me can have an amazing relationship with the Almighty God–if we believe. Every time I see paraphernalia of myself instead of Jesus I just want to destroy it because my life consisted of increasing God and decreasing myself. We should all attempt to make that our life calling.

Understand one thing: Christmas is not about me. I did not come so that you might have life and life more abundantly. Jesus is the one who gives you that life. Without Him, I would not have loved children so much. Without Him, I am nothing!

 Love Saint Nicholas

I am joining forces with World Vision’s 12 Days of Christmas Blogs. Click on the image above and read other blogs that celebrate the true meaning of Christmas. If you have a blog that represents what you believe about this season, there are instructions on how to link it to your post. Merry Christmas!

About allsupministries

We are a family of 6 seeking to serve God in all that we do! Won't you join us. View all posts by allsupministries

2 responses to “Letter from Saint Nicholas

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

